Ginataang sitaw

I think a lot of filipino food is “comfort food” for me – especially seafood dishes. Ginataang Sitaw (literally “long beans cooked in milk”) is a recipe full of my favourites – coconut milk, prawns, pumpkin, and a dash of chilli. The other day I went to the new Thai restaurant in town and talked about it with my co-workers.. coconut isn’t a food ready available in mainland Japan (I imagine it’s different in Okinawa?) so not many people are familiar with it, and they were astounded to hear coconut milk used in main meal dishes, not just dessert.

I followed this recipe sort of.. I only used half a can of coconut milk, and since I can’t really find squash here I just used regular kabocha (Japanese pumpkin) which worked well enough. I used Korean chilli paste but I think it could’ve used a little more since the coconut flavour was much stronger than I thought, even though I only used half a can. I also added a bunch of spinach since I’m a huge veg fanatic.

I made enough for two servings, so I have some leftovers for lunch tomorrow 😀

Leave a comment